ECO GOZO is voted National Public Champion for Malta in European Business Awards

Through its initiative ECO GOZO, the Ministry for Gozo has been named as the National Public Champion for Malta in the 2014/2015 European Business Awards sponsored by RSM, the 7th largest network of independent audit, tax and advisory firms.

In the most successful public vote to date, 156,573 votes were received for the video entries posted by companies online, and ECO GOZO obtained the highest number of votes for Malta. The ECO GOZO initiative was chosen out of 709 other businesses, and is one of 33 National Public Champions announced from 33 countries across Europe.

The number of votes received this year more than doubled over the previous edition of the European Business Awards.

RSM Malta, a member firm of RSM International, has recently honoured the eight Maltese entities who reached the final round of the European Business Awards during a networking event presided by the Minister for Economy, Investment and Small Business Dr Chris Cardona.  

The eight Maltese finalists are:

  • AppleCore Foods - The Business of the Year Award with Turnover of €0-25m
  • AX Holdings - The RSM Entrepreneur of the Year Award
  • bit8 - The Business of the Year Award with Turnover of €0-25m
  • BMIT - The Business of the Year Award with Turnover of €0-25m
  • CareMalta - The Award for Customer Focus
  • Deco Manufacturing - The RSM Entrepreneur of the Year Award
  • ecoGozo - The Award for Environmental & Corporate Sustainability
  • Equiom - The RSM Entrepreneur of the Year Award

The Minister for Economy, Investment and Small Business Dr Chris Cardona congratulated the finalists for their achievement and thanked RSM Malta for their active support in helping local companies to continue prospering in Malta and on an international level.

In 2014, the EBAs engaged with over 24,000 organisations in over 33 countries. Participants represented a combined turnover of over €1 trillion Euros, equivalent to 8.23% of EU GDP, employing over 2.7 million people. Past winners come from a diverse range of industries including cosmetics, pharmaceutical, engineering, fashion, online businesses, manufacturing and transport.

Deo Scerri, Managing Partner at RSM Malta, and Maria Micallef, Senior Partner at RSM Malta, explained that the primary purpose of the EBAs is to support the development of a stronger and more successful business community throughout Europe. "The untiring efforts that RSM International and RSM member firms show towards the EBAs year after year is a clear testament to the commitment and value that the brand places in these Awards and towards recognising success in business," said Mr Scerri and Ms Micallef. 

The National Public Champions will now go head-to-head in a second public vote which opened on 3rd March and runs until 16 April 2015. The entity receiving the largest number of votes will be announced as the 'European Public Champion' at a Gala Event on 26 May 2015 in London.

Adrian Tripp, CEO of the European Business Awards said: "It is a fantastic stamp of approval to be voted best in class by the public, and this voting stage has provided a wonderful opportunity to engage clients, staff, stakeholders, and potential new customers. Well done to all our National Public Champions." 

RSM Malta is active in offering tax and VAT planning and advice, company incorporation, business and IT advisory as well as accounting, audit and payroll services to a wide range of clients operating in various industries. The firm employs around 70 employees in different areas of specialisation, ranging from a variety of backgrounds including Tax, VAT, IT, legal, accountancy and audit.

RSM Malta is a certified Equal Opportunity Employer by the National Commission for the Promotion of Equality (NCPE).

The European Business Awards is an independent Awards programme designed to recognise and promote excellence, best practice and innovation in the European business community. This year it engaged with over 43,000 businesses from 33 European countries. It is now open for entrants for the 2015-16 competition.

For more information and review the video entries please visit